The Emotional Scale

The emotional scale is a guideline. Use it to see what would be a valid step up from one emotional state to another.

In other words isn’t it good to know that you’ve increased your happiness quotient by just going from Rage to Discouragement? Obviously you don’t want to stay in Discouragement too long but if it gives you relief in this moment then there’s nothing to knock it. Once you’ve got discouragement down pat then please do move forward!

The Energy Ladder is a brilliant aid to moving  up this scale quickly.

One last thing – whilst it’s impossible to leap from Depression to Joy, it isn’t impossible to leap-frog over several emotions on this scale to a higher one – so don’t take this scale too literally and think you have to work your way up it, one emotion at a time!

The Emotional Guidance Scale *


1. Joy/Knowledge/Empowered/Freedom/Love/Appreciation

2. Passion

3. Enthusiasm/Eagerness/Happiness

4. Positive Expectation/Belief

5. Optimism

6. Hopefulness

7. Contentment

8. Boredom

9. Pessimism

10. Frustration/Irritation/Impatience

11. Overwhelment

12. Disappointment

13. Doubt

14. Worry

15. Blame

16. Discouragement

17. Anger

18. Revenge

19. Hatred/Rage

20. Jealousy

21. Insecurity/Guilt/Unworthiness

22. Fear/Grief/Depression/Despair/Powerlessness

*From the book ‘Ask & It is Given’ by Abraham-Hicks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *